|| Sri. Devaraj Urs Educational Trust(R.) ||

R. L. Jalappa Institute of Technology

Approved By AICTE, New Delhi | Affiliated to Visvesvaraya Technological University, Belagavi. Kodigehalli, Doddaballapur-561203,

Bengaluru Rural District, Karnataka, India.




Founder, Sri Devaraj Urs Educational Trust,
Tamaka, Kolar

Late Sri. R. L. Jalappa, the Founder and Chairman of Sri Devaraj Urs Educational Trust (SDUET), Tamaka, Kolar. He is an outspoken politician, educationist, and leader of co-operative movement. Under his leadership, Sri Devaraj Urs Educational Trust has 8 Institutions in which more than 500 dedicated, motivated faculties are serving and over 4500 students have enrolled for various courses from kindergarten to post-doctoral courses, in traditional, technical, and medical educational Institutions. His Special Interests are, Promoting Agricultural, Horticultural, Dairy Farming, Education & Co-operative movements. Sri. R. L Jalappa was a member of the INC till 1979 when he quit the party to form the Karnataka Kranti Ranga with D. Devaraj Urs, which merged with the Janata Party the following year. Ten years later, he joined the Janata Dal and was elected to the Lok Sabha, the lower House of the Indian Parliament, in 1996, from Chikballapur.He served as the Union Minister of Textiles from 1996 to January 1998, when he quit the party and resigned as minister to rejoin the INC. He was elected to the Lok Sabha again, a member of which he remained till 2009. He also served as the chairman of the Sri Devaraj Urs Medical College situated in Kolar, Karnataka. He died from respiratory and kidney failure in Kolar, on 17 December 2021, at the age of 96.